State Flag

Office of the Governor - Press Office

Tuesday, April 24, 2001             
Dick Wadhams
Amy Jewett Sampson


DENVER – Governor Bill Owens today announced the appointment of Heather Witwer of Denver, Larry Trujillo of Pueblo, and Jeff Wells of Colorado Springs to the Colorado Reapportionment Commission.

Heather Witwer served as deputy legal counsel to Owens from January 1999 to January 2001.  She received her law degree from the University of Chicago in 1997 and was with the Denver law firm of Holme Roberts & Owen from 1997 to 1999.

Larry Trujillo currently is the executive director of the Colorado Department of General Support Services.  He served in the Colorado House of Representatives from 1983 to 1986 and the State Senate from 1987 to 1993 representing Pueblo County.  He was Senate Democratic Minority Leader from 1990 to 1993. 

Jeff Wells currently is deputy director of the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment.  He served in the State Senate from 1983 to 1999 representing Colorado Springs and was Senate Majority Leader from 1987 to 1999.

The Colorado Reapportionment Commission consists of four members appointed by the state legislature, three members appointed by the governor, and four members appointed by the chief justice of the Colorado Supreme Court, for a total of 11 members.  The commission will redistrict Colorado’s 65 state house seats and 35 state senate seats based on the 2000 census.

The state legislature was required by law to appoint members by April 15.  House Speaker Doug Dean of Colorado Springs appointed State Representative Mark Paschall of Arvada; House Minority Leader Dan Grossman of Denver appointed himself; Senate Majority Leader Bill Thiebaut of Pueblo appointed himself; and Senate Minority Leader John Andrews of Centennial appointed State Senator Mark Hillman of Burlington.

The governor was required to make his appointments by April 25.  Chief Justice Mary Mullarkey is required to make her appointments by May 5.  State law requires each of Colorado’s current six congressional districts be represented on the commission and it also requires at least one member be from west of the continental divide.  The commission can have no more than six members of any one political party.

Return to Office of the Governor - Press Office.

Home Top
[ Home | Top ]

last modified June 11, 2002